US adds four Russian officials to 'Magnitsky sanctions list'

January 14, 2014

Posted on December 30th, 2014 by Michael O'Kane on

On 29 December 2014, the US Office of Foreign Assets Control ("OFAC") announced the addition of four Russian officials to the Specially Designated Nationals ('SDN') list under the Sergei Magnitsky Rule of Law Accountability Act of 2012 ("The Magnitsky Act").

As previously reported on this blog, the Magnitsky Act allows sanctions not only against those individuals deemed responsible for the death in detention of Russian lawyer, Sergei Magnitsky, but also those involved in human rights violations against anyone seeking to expose illegal activity by Russian officials or seeking to promote human rights in Russia.

The new additions to the list are Victor Grin (the Deputy General Prosecutor of Russia), Apti Kharonovich Alaudinov, Magomed Khozhakhmedovich Daudov and Andrei Alexandrovich Strizhov.

The US Magnitsky sanctions list now contains 34 individuals, including 28 who allegedly played a role in the death of Sergei Magnitsky.

End notes

This article first appeared on European Sanctions Law & Practice (, a blog by Maya Lester (+44 20 7379 3550,, a barrister at Brick Court Chambers, and Michael O'Kane (+44 (0) 20 7822 7777, head of Business Crime at Peters & Peters.